Study Area

The northwest region of Argentina comprises 5 political provinces of Argentina (Catamarca, Jujuy, Salta, Santiago del Estero y Tucumán). Climatically, biologically and topographically it is extremely diverse, ranging from 55 m.a.s.l. from more than 6700 m.a.s.l.; its western portion is occupied by the Andes. Olson et al. (2001) divided this region into five ecoregions (Puna, Chaco, Monte, Yungas and Andean Steppe). It is very important to note that Chaco region (and its transitional zones with Yungas and Monte), has a great aptitude for agriculture, reason why most of the region is currently occupied by crops and the region present one of the higher deforestation rates in the globe.

